Review

bye 2013

What a year 2013 has been!

As I was in my Quiet Time this morning, reviewing 2013, I realized just how much this journey has changed me.  I’m not saying that I’m done growing, not by any means, God has much work for me to do.

I always thought that following God meant losing yourself but it’s the complete opposite…I’m more me!  The me that God wanted me to be from the beginning!  Now who would have thought that!?  I want to please Him, to love Him to worship Him, I stand in awe of who and what He is.

Let’s look back on the things I’ve learned about God and myself this past year:

I had two words for 2013, one was Faith.  I’ve learned to have faith… in the good, in the bad and in the confusing.  I learned to have faith that God is who He says He is. “Yet for us there is one God, the Father, from whom are all things and for whom we exist, and one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom are all things and through whom we exist.” 1 Corinthians 8:6 ESV.  I learned when God says something He means it.  I learned when God promises something He follows through.  I learned that God is Faithful to the end.

My second word was Present. This word was a bit harder but I did learn to be present in the moment, to stay focused on one thing at a time.  I learned God gifts us with presents if we only open our eyes to see the blessings all around us, even in the difficult times. “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” James 1:17 ESV.

I learned Forgiveness, to myself and others.  This one is a stumbling block that we all must undertake.  I learned that withholding forgiveness hurts you not the other person.  I learned just how much forgiveness costs, but the feeling is so freeing when you just forgive and let go. I learned by forgiving, you might just be surprised by reactions to that forgiveness.  It is still so difficult for me to comprehend just how much Jesus did for us… in awe always and forever.  “And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.” Mark 11:25 ESV.

I learned there are times to let go.  Of people and things that are no longer part of your journey.  I had trouble with this one, I thought that if God put someone in my path it was forever.  It’s not.  It’s for a time.  I learned that I need to let go and move on with my walk, letting go in love. I also let go of so much this past year… books, magazines, television, ideas, and thoughts.  I let go of things that no longer serve a purpose in my life, that are no longer a reflection of who I am today.  “Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 42:18-19

I learned to allow the Holy Spirit to work through me to witness Jesus Christ to others. Now witnessing was something I didn’t think I’d ever be able to do! It’s one thing to put my thoughts in words but another to speak it.  Really, who as I to speak about Jesus when my journey is still so new?  Yet, God lead me through the Holy Spirit to do just that! It sometimes didn’t turn our how I thought it would, but I learned that my job was to witness to others not to convince them.  “And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation.” Mark 16:15 ESV.

I learned to rely on God in all things.  I learned it’s not up to me to make things work out for good, but His.  I learned to just rely on the fact that He is in control.  That’s difficult to say the least, but I learned by relying on God things will work out for good in the end.  And I know by relying on God they are always better than I could have ever done on my own.  “For it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.” Philippians 2:13 ESV.

God lead me to begin this blog, writing about my journey.  Sometimes there is not much to say and other times the words just seem to fly off my fingers without much thought on my part.  I learned that feelings are okay, that we all have them, it’s what we do with them that makes the difference.

God lead me to begin the Gift of the Home group.  I’ve learned a lot from the group… good and bad.  I’ve learned that I can’t control, I can’t push people to want more of Him.  God will do the work, all I can do is lead, to open hearts and eyes to the truth.

God lead me to the perfect church for my family and myself!  A church where Jesus is first, no sugar coating.  For this I’m blessed beyond belief.

God also lead me to look at end of days (that’s pretty much why I’ve been so quiet lately) but more on that at a later date.

As I began this journey, I had no idea where it would take me.  I knew I loved God.  I knew He knew what was best for me but I had no idea of just how much he loved me.  Looking back, I see just how God worked in me and it’s an awesome feeling!  He loves us so much that He takes the time to shape us, mold us, lead us into a deeper relationship with Him.

I can not wait to see what God is up to for 2014!

“Then the Lord God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature.”  Genesis 2:7 ESV

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

