2014 Word Is… REVERENCE

I wanted my word for 2014 to be “believe” for 2014.  I really did!  There were so many pretty images to use, I could picture my Facebook timeline having “believe”, it would look so pretty and inviting.

No, God had another word for me “REVERENCE”.

Rev·er·ence   n. 1. A feeling of profound awe and respect and often love; veneration. 2. An act showing respect, especially a bow or curtsy. 3. The state of being revered. 4. Reverence Used as a form of address for certain members of the Christian clergy: Your Reverence.

More Words Related to Reverence: Verb: Admire, Adore, Apotheosized, Appreciate, Be In Awe Of, Cherish, Defer to, Deify, Enjoy, Esteem, Exalt, Hold In Awe, Honor, Look Up To, Love, Magnify, Pay Homage, Prize, Put on Pedestal, Regard, Respect, Think Highly of, Treasure, Value, Venerate, Worship. Noun: Account, Adoration, Affection, Applause, appreciation, Approbation, Approval, Deference, Delight, Esteem, Estimation, Favor, Fondness, Glorification, Homage, Honor, Idolatry, Idolization, Liking, Love, Marveling, Obeisance, Pleasure, Praise, Prizing, Recognition, Regard, Valuing, Veneration, Wonder, Wonderment, Worship.  Noun ~ Intense Love: Admiration, Amore, Ardor, Attachment, Crush, Devotion, Esteem, Estimation, Exaltation, Glorification, Hankering, Honor, Idolization, Infatuation, Pash, Passion, Puppy Love, Shine, Yen.  Adore ~ verb to Love Intensely: Admire, Be Crazy About, Be Gone On, Be Mad For, Be Nuts About, Be Serious About, Be Smitten With, Be Stuck On, Be Sweet On, Be Wild About, Cherish, Delight In, Dig, Dote On, Esteem, Exalt, Fall For, Flip Over, Glorify, Go For, Honor, Idolize, Prize, Revere, Treasure. (from http://thesaurus.com/browse/reverence)

There are 100 Bible Verses on Reverence.  The verse that kept coming up over and over was: “Therefore let us be grateful for receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, and thus let us offer to God acceptable worship, with reverence and awe.” Hebrews 12:28.

So, as you know, I obey… this, my friends, is my word for 2014!

FotoFlexer_Photo rev 1

4 thoughts on “2014 Word Is… REVERENCE

  1. Hi, I LOVE that you asked God for your word for the year. 🙂 It always excites me when I find God doing similar things in other people’s lives. 2013’s word for me this year was “Courage.” I started my first real job as a 4th grade teacher, and I began regularly speaking to youth kids about the Lord. It was a crazy year, but I saw God building up the courage in my fearful heart.

    All that to say, when I saw your word was reverence it immediately brought me back to a word God gave me. He showed me that during the reformation, Martin Luther and his followers had to fight to know God as love. Today we must not forget he is God of obedience and justice as well, one to be honored and revered.

    I love that your word for the year is reverence. I think it is a lost concept in the modern day church. Youths and children are not being taught reverence for the Lord. I think we have forgotten that side of God and it is equally as important as his tenderness.

    I love your blog. It is adorable and fun. Happy New Year and many blessings!

Leave a Reply

