Stressed? Let Go

stress

Thanksgiving.  An act of giving thanks; an expression of gratitude, especially to God.

A time to be joyful.  A time to be in awe of the blessings that God has generously bestowed on us.

Then why is Thanksgiving so stressful? Why is Thanksgiving filled with hurry?  Why is Thanksgiving filled with the need to have everything perfect?

This year Hub’s family is coming for Thanksgiving.  They are coming for the first time to be a part of our new life.

Stressful?  Ah, yea!

This morning as I did my quiet time I asked for patience, for a hand over my mouth.  I wanted to remain calm and not stress about this visit, the first impression our home will give.

That lasted all of an hour.

As I did one final home check before the family was to arrive I found that Kiddo hadn’t cleaned his bathroom.  Now this was not a simple wipe down but a full-blown top to bottom cleaning that needed to be done.  I wish that I could say that I just shook my head, called Kiddo into the bathroom and showed him what needed to be done in a calm and controlled way but … I didn’t.  Instead I screamed, I ranted, I raved.

I’m not proud of myself, not in any way, shape or form.  I’m disgusted that I allowed something so insignificant in the whole scheme of things got to me.

 God slapped me and said “Be calm” I went to my quiet place and prayed. (Okay, so sometimes I don’t get it right away.)

As upset as I was, in a way, it was a blessing.  God showed me an area I need to work on in my journey with Him.  He pointed out to me how easy I (we) can slip back into the old way of thinking when stress comes.  

Father, please help me to learn to let go and let You.  Urge me to let go of my impatience with people and things and to open my heart to Your loving patience.  Teach me to let go of my attitude in thinking that I’m the only capable of taking care of things.  Show me how to let go of my cares, my worries and the noises in my life ~ to let You surround me with Your tranquil assurances. Encourage me to let go of my selfish ways.  Remind me, Father, of the benefits when I let go and let You lead me.  Smile with me, Father, when I let go and allow you take over.  Nod your head in approval when I let go of my rants, my raves and replace them with You.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”  Romans 12:2 ESV

Now… time to apologize to the Kiddo…

 

Leave a Reply

