Practical Steps – Are You Ready?

rising upAs I’ve studied through the Fruits of the Spirit, I’ve come to learn more about myself and God’s beautiful plan for me.  The study has brought me out of my comfort zone which is so often the case when we obey God.

Becoming a Christian requires much from us.  To say we believe is not enough.  We must obey.  We must remove the old habits and develop new ones.  This, as we know, is more easier said than done.  The Fruits have taught me how to continue to grow in this journey.  I hope that they have you as well, by opening your eyes to all that God wants you to be.

Yet, I, like most of us, have difficulty changing habits I have.  The longer I’ve had the habit the more ingrained it is in me and the harder it is to change, to remove from my life. Yet, I want and need to walk this journey with God.  I know His ways are higher, better than my own could ever be.

Is being a Christian easy?  Some say it should be!  But nothing good is ever easy.  Do you want your old life back?  You can’t… once you take the leap of faith and proclaim Jesus as your Lord and Savior all bets are off!  You now know the truth, “So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed in him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:31-32 ESV

We are “to put off our old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.”  Ephesians 4:22-24 ESV

Are you ready?  

“Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.” Matthew 7:13-14 ESV

Dig deep here, are ready to give up everything that you hold dear, the old way of doing things?

 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 7:21 ESV

Are you ready to rid yourself of the things that hold you back from Him?  

The bad language, controlled temper, gambling, drugs, smoking, gossiping, ect. ~ things that can hold you back from Him?

 “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”  Romans 12:1-2 ESV

Are you ready to build solid foundations in Christ?  

“All things are lawful for me,” but not all things are helpful. “All things are lawful for me,” but I will not be enslaved by anything.” 1 Corinthians 6:12 ESV

Are you ready?  

Knowing what changes to make, isn’t enough we need to know how to make them changes that last.  “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17 ESV

If you are, I hope that you will walk this journey with me, step-by-step growing each day….

 

Leave a Reply

