Back to Basics – Hospitality – Day 3

serve one another

Matthew 25:34-40 NIV “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,  I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?  When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?  When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’’

I have moved house a lot and as a result I have visited many churches. It is no wonder there are so many people who have given up on the church. I have been to churches and not a single soul has said hello. The Church is where you should feel God’s love, a warm welcome, genuine concern for your well-being, feed and clothe those that need it. Church should be a place where there is no judgement, a safe haven for those that need it.

Feeding someone is a gift, showing Gods love by providing the comfort of a warm meal, cooked with love is a blessing to both the person who receives and the person that gives.

Does your church have a bank of frozen meals for those that are in need?

Do you have regular potluck/ covered plate dinners?

I believe that teaching Hospitality is perfect for young woman in the church, an opportunity to learn the kills from the older ladies also giving them the skills to cook for a family when they marry. The churches are full of lonely older ladies who are just crying out to feel useful and younger  ladies who are just crying out to learn these skills. I feel this area of Hospitality is undervalued.

At one church there was a young family with 3 small children and they were late to church every Sunday. This young mum sat there and you could tell she was barely holding it all together. The minister’s wife had an idea, what if she arranged for an older lady from the congregation to help the young mum. This was a perfect arrangement, the young mum was so happy to get some help. The lady came early and fed and bathed the children and kept them occupied the parents were able to shower and get ready for church with no pressure. They arrived at church on time and the older lady sat with the family with a smile so big, she felt useful she felt wanted. I am not sure who got the most from this arrangement. I know that a lovely friendship came from helping each other.  This experiment was repeated time and time again. The older ladies were like extra grandparents.

Maybe try inviting someone to church back to your home after church. Show Gods love, spend time getting to know people, you don’t need to have a fancy house and gourmet food. The blessings will flow.

Make a visitor to your church welcome, show them God’s love.  If you show hospitality to someone you will find a more receptive heart to hear Gods word.

Have a beautiful day.

Created for the Gift of the Home by Nicole Clarke

Come join us for encouragement and support at https://www.facebook.com/groups/GiftoftheHome/

Leave a Reply

