Back to Basics – Hospitality – Day 2

 

1 peter

How simple is it to be really resentful when you are doing something you don’t want to do. You said yes to a request when you really should have said no, and now you are stuck, doing something with resentment in your heart, and you think no one notices. Sorry, but they do!!!   If you look at the areas of Hospitality you need to get your heart right with God first, pray beforehand, that you will make a difference in someone’s  life that through your actions they can be left with no doubt that it was God’s love being shown to them. I have been too many churches where the intent was to minister to those in need, but they forgot God in the process too busy with the practicalities of the event.

1 Peter 4 speaks to us about this, “Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.  Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.  Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.  If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God.  If anyone serves, they should so so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ.  To Him be the glory and the power forever and ever. Amen.”

If you are finding it difficult to show God’s love to those that have fallen on hard times, I ask you to pray and seek God.

Many years ago I worked as a bank teller and I loved the old ladies, I always smiled and had a little chat with them. One day a lady asked to speak with me, I had no idea who she was. She introduced herself as the daughter of a lady I served every week. She wanted to let me know that her mother had passed away. She also wanted me to know that her mother was so touched by my kindness and the fact I always smiled at her and made time for a chat. I made her feel important and it was her visit to the bank that was a highlight in her week.

Tears came to my eyes, because I didn’t think that I had done anything out of the ordinary, I only spoke to this precious woman for maybe 3-4 minutes each week, but that was enough to show God’s love by my actions. I thanked the daughter for taking the time to meet me and gave her my condolences. From that day forward, I prayed that Gods love would shine from me to help all those who needed it. You may never know how your actions may help someone. God does though.

It is easy to be nice to the sweet old ladies and the mothers of young bubs, but is sometimes a little confrontational to show God’s love to the homeless, drug addicts and alcoholics.

I really like this song by Collin Raye. What if Jesus comes back like that. It really makes you look at your heart. You don’t know the difference a kindness can make in a person’s life.

Are you judgmental?

Do you look away and pretend you haven’t seen someone who is hurting?

Ask yourself,” What would Jesus do?”

God loves us all, each and every one of us. He loved us so much that gave us Jesus, who died on the cross for our sins. It is God’s love that will make all the difference in this world.

Have a beautiful day.

 

collin raye

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjlbCBCjoEQ

What if Jesus comes back like that by Collin Raye

Created for the Gift of the Home by Nicole Clarke

Come join us for encouragement and support at https://www.facebook.com/groups/GiftoftheHome/

Leave a Reply

