Weeding

Today, during my quiet time, God told me “Come unto Me.  There is the thing you must do and you will go no further in your walk until you do, that is why you walk away after prayer feeling alone.” (My Utmost for His Highest – Oswald Roberts)  He then went on to say my foundations must be laid on Jesus and I must give God everything that belongs to Him.   I must stop my sinning and obey Him and He will cancel out the disasters against me; follow His word.  I have to admit I was a little frightened and a little confused.  What is God talking about?  What is He trying to tell me?

As I was going through my faith feed on Facebook this morning, Stormie Omartian’s post made my heart race, ““Lord, I want to care for my body, my mind and my heart. Today, enable me to ______.” Your body—including your heart and mind—is the temple of the Holy Spirit. Because God lives IN you, caring for yourself is something you must do as much for Him as for yourself.  Today, ask God to be in charge of these areas. Whether it’s asking for help to eat right, or asking God to give you positive thoughts or a heart filled with love, lift it up to Him.”  And then this,

540334_10151749567327144_1967928530_n

God was telling me to take care of my health!  I haven’t been talking care of myself very well.  Even after having a full physical and being told what I should and should not be doing.  I haven’t stopped smoking, I haven’t been eating right.  I haven’t been exercising.  This wasn’t the first time that God has touched me about this, but never was it as  forceful as today.

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17

Then I remembered a conversation I had with my bestie, over at Restoring to Health, she said, “I really don’t mind pulling weeds.  It’s very therapeutic, and God showed me something about weeds and sins once.  I was in my beg garden, pulling weeds, and God said “See those weeds you are pulling? They are just like the sins in your life.  Some of the weeds come our easily, they are sins that pop in and out of your life.  The weeds whose roots go deep, are the deep sins in your life.  The ones that are with you constantly, choking out what I’m trying to do for you.  Will you let me weed the gardens of your heart?” so that’s why I love to garden and pull weeds.”

I’ve been dealing with some issues (sins) that are deep within, issues that I haven’t really confronted which have been holding me back from taking this step.  God is telling me to confront them, deal with them and obey Him.  It’s always, “I’ll do better tomorrow.” Then as the night comes, there really hasn’t been a change.  Yes, I’ve thought about it but I haven’t taken any action.

“The times of ignorance God overlooked, but now He commands all people everywhere to repent.”  Acts 17:30

Father, help me to be a person who takes care of herself.  Help me to make wise decisions and to be a good steward of myself, the “temple” You have given me.  Help me to stop abusing my body, but to care for it as You would want me to.   Father, I want to be in balance. Your word says, “Sin is no longer your master, for you no longer live under the requirements of the law. Instead, you live under the freedom of God’s grace. Well then, since God’s grace has set us free from the law, does that mean we can go on sinning? Of course not! Don’t you realize that you become the slave of whatever you choose to obey? You can be a slave to sin (or food), which leads to death, or you can choose to obey God, which leads to righteous living.” Romans 6:14-16   Father, I choose to obey You. Please weed the garden of my heart.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

 

images (12)

2 thoughts on “Weeding

  1. amen bestie! Now just wait and see what God is going to do with you! Healing! Restoration! He is going to be able to work and move more in you now just because you prayed that prayer!!!! I am so happy for you! ❤

Leave a Reply

