Childish Ways

This week has been a quiet one… a week of reflection, a week of heavy thoughts.  A time of leaning in closer to Him.  A time of praising Him more.  A time of worshiping Him more. A time of studying His word closer.

I have not been a bundle of energy.  I haven’t been experiencing God as I have before.  I haven’t been feeling Him in the same way, the sense of utter excitement.  I haven’t been hearing Him as clearly.

I feel as if He has stepped away from me for a time.  Please, dear friends, don’t take this the wrong way.  I know He is still with me.  I love Him with all I am.  I’m not experiencing Him in the same way.

I miss the way I was growing in Him.  I miss how excited I was at every turn as I learned something new.  I miss the worship songs touching my heart and causing tears to flow.

During Quiet Time this morning this 1 Corinthians 13:11 – 12 spoke to me. “It’s like this: When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child does.  But when I grew up, I put away childish things.  Now we things imperfectly as in a poor mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity.  All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God knows now.”

As I meditated on His words it came to me, the excitement, the wonder are like that of a child in an amusement park for the first time.  I am no longer a child.  I no longer have to have that same child like excitement.

God is telling me it’s time to grow up, to mature in Him. Imagine how frustrated He must become treating me like a child over and over again.

As a child, I needed to be told what to do.  God needed to continually remind me of His love and His presence in my life.

As a child, I remained close to others that felt the same way I as did about God. I spent much time and energy worrying about what others thought about me, my beliefs.  I was stumbling slowly finding out who I am in Christ.  God is telling me to get on with it and be who He created me to be.

As I child, I wasted time.  I stayed close to Him through the Gift of the Home, continually checking and re checking everything. God is telling me to let go. God is telling me to step back into my life, stronger because He is stronger in me.

As a child, I babbled (oh how I hate to admit this. I’m so sorry Hubs!).  I had God growing stronger every day.  I wanted to express the feelings, the thoughts, all I was learning. God is telling me He is with me.  God is telling me He will be with me and that not everything needs to be expressed repeatedly.

God is telling me it’s time to put the childish ways away.  God is telling me that by holding onto these ways I will not become the best me He created me to be.  God is telling me the emotionalism is not the only way to experience Him.    God is telling me He doesn’t want me to stay where I am.  God is saying He wants me to grow more into the likeness of Jesus.

God has not left me.  God has just changed where He stands with me.  God is telling me my experiences with Him will be richer if I allow myself to mature.

 

“Leave your childish ways and you will live. Walk in the way that leads to understanding.” Proverbs 6

It’s time to grow up.

as a child

4 thoughts on “Childish Ways

  1. Girl, I can so relate to this one! It’s true, as children, we were led by the hand, spoon-fed, and cuddled close to His heart. As we grow, we learn to stand free, we crawl, walk then run…it’s a process.

    I can’t help but remember my kids when they were learning to ride a bike by themselves…training wheels were intended to help them practice balance, but they became dependent on them and never really learned until they were taken off. They were happy and secure, and doing fine as long as Momma or Daddy were holding on, but once they realized they were “on their own”, they lost their balance and crashed…scraped their knee and came running back for comfort. Aren’t we like that? I know I am. Good thoughts this morning. Thanks!

    Lyn

  2. Lyn, I always say I’m a baby in my own head… Well, I guess our Father told me different this morning! I’m happy to move on to a new level with Him…knowing He’s always with me! Just a part of the journey! 🙂

  3. I am so blessed to call you my friend, and to watch you grow and blossom into the Woman of God I know you to be! He has so much more in store for you now! Keep trusting Him, keep growing and above all else, keep being you! I love you bestie!

Leave a Reply

