The Vow Matters

marriage vows

As we went Back to Basics in the Gift of the Home Group, the first area we touched on was “Husbands”.  I’ve been thinking about the vows I took on my wedding day, the day I gave myself heart, body and soul to the love my live.

Definition of Vow:  a solemn promise or assertion; specifically one by which a person is bound to an act, service, or condition.

“Make your vows to the Lord your God and perform them; let all around him bring gifts to him who is to be feared,”  Psalm 76:11

Remember when you took your marriage vows?

You vowed “for better or for worse”.  You vowed “for richer, for poorer”.  You vowed “in sickness and in health”.  You vowed “to love and cherish”.  You vowed “from this day forward until death do us part.”

I know the world thinks that if you’re not happy, the marriage isn’t legitimate.  I know the world thinks that if there are problems then you should leave the marriage, cut your losses and move on.  If the vow meant, “we’ll stay married as long as we’re happy”, “as long was there are no problems” there would be no need for a vow!

The vow is what will hold you together, and God asked you to make that vow. God asked you to commit, because in committing to someone for life, we’re also creating a situation where we need to lean on God. When marriage is hard, you need God more. For marriages to improve, you need to emphasize God more, and yourself less.

Marriage is the rock that keeps communities together, and churches together, and countries together. When marriages break up, everything falls apart.

I know many of you reading this are going through rough times. I know you’re sad and lonely.  I see it time and time again.

But you promised. You chose this man on your own, and you vowed. Perhaps you did it out of desperation, wondering if anyone else would ever love you. Maybe you did it at a vulnerable time in your life, and you feel like it was a mistake.

Even so, you vowed. And vows matter.

At one point you loved this man enough to marry him. Can you find that in your heart again?

Because the vows matters.

“I must perform my vows to you, O God; I will render thank offerings to you.” Psalm 56:12

 

3 thoughts on “The Vow Matters

  1. Pingback: Understanding Marriage | Let It Begin Anew

Leave a Reply

