A Different Ship

As you know, I talk much about forgiveness.  Forgiveness is a big part of walking the path with God.  Jesus died for our sins and we must learn to forgive others so His death is not in vein.   I try to live my life according to Luke 17:3-4 “Pay attention to yourselves! If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him, and if he sins against you seven times in the day, and turns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.”

I have been in deep prayer regarding a friendship  in my life right now.  In the beginning, I thought we were alike in our beliefs.  As this relationship friendship continued on, things did not seem quite right to me.  Something in the pit of my stomach was telling me things were not as they appeared.  I began to ask God to help me forgive the things that were turning me away from the friendship.  The friendship was making me uncomfortable.

I prayed continuously on how to walk with this friendship yet nothing came.  I was confused.  I was concerned. This was unusual for me, I usually get something that guides me to His will.  But nothing, nothing at all came to me.

Then some feelings started coming to me…I started feeling like a game was being played.  Now, everyone will tell you… I’m in no way a game player , I don’t know how to play.  I don’t want to play.  A  thought occurred to me… God is not answering my prayers because God does not play games!  He says what He means.  He keeps His promises.

I then asked God to guide me as I re-evaluated this friendship, as I reviewed and tried to understand what was really going on.

As I re-evaluated this friendship I saw some things that made me feel used, how could I not see the lies right in front of me.  I was confused, and I will admit I was angry.  I felt as if I hadn’t shined His life bright enough. I began to journal my feelings to our Father, allowing all the feelings to wash over me.  I was praying to Him to help me to forgive.

Now, you may say that I should be trying to lead them to God… I was believe me I was.  I continued to pray, I continued to led as God had asked.

Then something totally incredible happened… she left the Gift of the Home group with out a word.  I asked, as I was concerned, she was cutting back on social media.  I had to admit that I understood.

Within the next few days,  I see games being played, new groups being joined and old groups being re-joined.  There was no communication between us.

Then just as suddenly, I was asked a favor from them.   Like a lightening bolt, “Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers. For what partnership has righteousness with lawlessness? Or what fellowship has light with darkness?” 2 Corinthians 6:14

I had been forgiving bad behavior and lies. I had been forgiving someone who does not walk the path I walk with God.  I was forgiving someone who was willing to walk the path, but was using the words of God for their own gain.

This quote from C. Joybell expresses what I’m learning,  “Lots of things can be fixed. Things can be fixed. But many times, relationships between people cannot be fixed, because they should not be fixed. You’re aboard a ship setting sail, and the other person has joined the inland circus, or is boarding a different ship, and you just can’t be with each other anymore. Because you shouldn’t be.”

I’m praying on the path to take, praying for the words to say, praying that her heart will be unhardened… I will continue to until God gives me the words to speak as I know he will because He keeps His promises and I will continue to pray.

ship

3 thoughts on “A Different Ship

  1. beautifully said, just beautiful! God brings people into our lives for a lot of different reasons, but always, always so we can learn from them and Him. God bless you for this difficult post.

  2. It has been brought to my attention, that some people may have been hurt by this post… that was not my intention. My intention was to express my thoughts and feelings and what I’m learning on my journey. There will be times that I will need to release relationships that do not serve me for my highest good. It’s not something that I take lightly but I know that God will lead me and guide me in my journey.

Leave a Reply

