Who’s In Control?

Who is really in control of your life?  Are you?  We always want to control everything!  There are countless websites, books, and companies out there to help you with this so I know I’m not alone!  I’ve tried for most of my life to control… myself, others, outcomes, just like I know you have.  There were times I truly thought I had my life totally under control.   I would be proud, proud that everything was working out so well because of my plans.  I didn’t need anyone or anything, I had it all figured out.

Then someone, something would come along and show me I was wrong.  I couldn’t (wouldn’t) understand what happened!  I had control, I had plans, why had they failed?  How did you feel when everything fell apart?  I know I felt like a failure, I was angry and resentful that things weren’t falling into line.

Interesting isn’t it how we still go on trying to take control, we keep trying to control everything, making those plans.  So we think, “I just didn’t think of everything” and here we go again trying to control everything and making plans.

“But each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desire.”  ~ James 1:14

Did I ever just stop, just stop and listen to the voice inside me?  Have you?  Not usually.  Even in our failures we continue to rely on ourselves.  Not once, or twice but over and over again.  Then we wonder why our lives aren’t working the way we had planned.  Why is so hard to just stop and listen?  To listen to God’s voice guiding and directing our paths.

 “Who among you will give ear to this, will attend and listen for the time to come?”  ~ Isiah 42:23

The more I study God’s Word, the more I understand, the more I want to glorify Him the less I want my own control, the less I want to make plans without His blessing.  Is it easy to relinquish the control?  No, it’s not… because I’ve been doing it for so long.  Is it the right way to live my life?  YES, yes, it is!  How do I know this?  Because God tells me in His Word!  His Word is the way to live, His Word gives us life, His Word directs our paths, His Word keeps us safe.

“What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.” Philippians 4:9

As I’ve begun this journey with God, I’ve learned that as Jesus says, “I can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just, because I seek not my own will but the will of him who sent me.” (John 5:30)  Controlling my own life and the lives of others, won’t work.  It fails.  As I give up control my life and leave my desires  out of the equation, I’ve come to realize that God’s plans will always succeed ~ no question!  It may not be in the way  I think, or want, but they will succeed without too much input on my part.  All I have to do is pray for His will, not my own selfish desires.

“Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.”  ~ Psalm 25-4-5 

 

  black_relax_god_is_in_control_engraved_wood_sign_2

 

2 thoughts on “Who’s In Control?

  1. Amen, Amen, and Amen! What a word in season! Thank you for posting this, it blessed me so very much tonight.

Leave a Reply

