Lay It Down

Dear friends, you know my story… you know my past, you’ve read my story…

When I laid down my life to Jesus I did it fully.  I wanted Jesus in my life to lead me out of the pits of despair, out of the pain, I knew I couldn’t do it alone.  Though my world was fearful and completely out of control I began to study The Word – not just read it.  I began to pray to Our Father all day – not just in the morning or at bedtime.  I began to see Him working in my life – not just in the big things but in the little things too.  I began to have a heart for more of Him.

It dawned on me a few months ago, that laying down your life for Jesus is not a one time thing you have to do.  It’s something that you have to over an over again.  Everyday I was praying for His guidance, His way.  Yet, there had been so many times that the peace of God alluded me.  So for the past few months, everyday I lay my life down to Jesus.  I ask God what can I do for you?  What is it you need from me?

Not every day would I hear Him.  Not every day would I know what His plan for me was.  Not every day would He gave me direction.  Yet, I continued to pray His will.

God, tells me today,”… go home to your friends, and tell them what wonderful things the Lord has done for you and how merciful He has been.” ~ Mark 5:19    “…don’t be afraid.  Just trust Me,” – Mark 25:36

When God touched me and told me what He wanted me to do….I didn’t obey.  Not right away.  I gave Him excuses…I’m not ready for that yet, I wouldn’t be good at that.  God did not let up.

“As soon as we do abandon, the Holy Ghost gives us that intimation of the joy of Jesus.  The final aim of self-sacrifice is laying down our lives for our Friend.  When the Holy Ghost comes in, the great desire is to lay down thee life for Jesus, and the thought of sacrifice never touches us because sacrifice is the love passion of the Holy Ghost. ……but when the sacrifice is made with the eyes on Him, slowly and surely the molding influence begins to tell.”  ~ My Utmost for His Highest ~ Oswald Chambers

Chambers says what my heart feels today…Abandon to Jesus! Lay down everything that is about you.  Let the Spirit in.  When the voice of God tells you to do something – obey at once.  Give up your wants and needs.  Don’t make excuses for why you can’t do what He says.  God is NOT going to stop – you will not win this.

When you lay it all down and strip you out of the equation, all I can tell you is WOW!  Let HIm guide you – He will lead you to it and through it.  He will align the right people for you at the right time.  He will hold your hand and guide you to the most amazing way of life!

I’m not going to say it doesn’t frighten me at times (the evil one), I’m not going to say that it’s not overwhelming at times.  I’m not going to say that there won’t be times that you just want to stop.

What I am gong to tell you is….God makes plans and then carries those plans through with you.  He will work through you if you only lay it down to Him.

What choice (ah yes that free will again) will you make? 

Isiah 25:1 “O, Lord, I will honor and praise Your name, for you are my God.  Yo do such wonderful things!”

Lloyd-Lay-It-Down

2 thoughts on “Lay It Down

  1. After our chat last night, this is so appropriate! He brings in what you need to do His work. You my friend are one of those things! I thank Him everyday for the gift of you, that He has blessed me with on this journey! In love…

Leave a Reply

