Comfortable

To be honest I was comfortable in my life a month ago.  I loved taking care of Hubs, Kiddo and our home.  I was comfortable studying the Word.  I was comfortable blogging when the words would come.  I was comfortable playing Facebook games and chatting with friends.  I was comfortable.

Yet, it seems God had other plans for me.  God started slowly, tugging on my heart teaching me to listen to His quiet voice.   This in turn caused me to blog more, to open myself up and share what I was learning about Him day-by-day.  I was comfortable.

Then God began to put new people in my path.  Believers who struggled as I did.  Believers that caused me to open my heart and mind wider.  I was learning so much more about Him.  I was comfortable.

I began to see that some things I was a part of were not as uplifting and encouraging as I once thought they were.  I know it was God showing me that the things of this world are slowly not part of me anymore.  I began to see things that caused my heart to hurt, for others and for God. I began to talk about what I was feeling with others, what could I do?  I was uncomfortable.

God touched my heart quickly, start a group for other believers.  Doesn’t that sound like a good idea?  I obeyed.  The Gift of the Home was created.  I truly thought that this would be a fly by night group.  We would get some members and it would slowly fade.

“And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation.”  Mark 16:15

God surprised me!  He had a plan, even when I didn’t.  As I worked with the group, writing challenges, posting devotionals and bible study.  I came to meet and love the most amazing women in Christ.

It has been a month, the group has grown, the friendships growing stronger everyday, love growing deeper.  Hearts on the line without fear of judgement, of critical words.  Just love.  God has touched and blessed each and every one of us!

A dear friend said “God is so amazing, and I don’t think we will ever realize just how much He loves us, How much He wants for us, and how much He wants to do with us! It’s mind-blowing if you think about it.”

Everyday He asks more from me to lead, I struggle with this.  I don’t want to be second guessing Him.  I want to do everything I can for Him.  I want to make Him proud of what He’s blessed me with.  This same dear friend said when I told her my fears “a friend once told me “God does not call the equipped, He equips those He calls.” true words. You are ready!”

The group is now growing in new directions, wonderful directions, directions that will bring our walks with God so much closer.  Everyday I obey Him.

Am I comfortable?  To be honest, not so much, so much of this new path makes me uncomfortable.  Will I continue to obey Him?  Without a shadow of a doubt!

“Whenever an opportunity comes your way, challenge yourself to first thank God and then quickly follow-up with the question, “God, who else is supposed to be blessed by this connection or opportunity?” ~ Lysa TerKeurst
This one’s for you, KD, the encourager.  I love you!
images (13)
6 thoughts on “Comfortable

  1. I love you to “D”! You are growing so much and so fast in Christ I am honored and humbled to call you friend. Blessings!

  2. I understand why KD wanted me to read your blog. Thank you for being the encouragement and lift she needed. You both need to continue and follow what God has put in front of you to do. Comfortable or not, we need to follow.

  3. When we do what God wants us to we are rarely comfortable. it is, however, a place filled with love, grace, mercy, peace, and strength that comes from the very throne of God. Continue to walk in obedience and there is nothing that you can’t accomplish for the Kingdom. In His Service, Jeff

Leave a Reply

