Leading to Forgiveness

SoaringDove

I’m finding  God is drawing me closer, closer every day.  I can feel Him within me guiding me, leading me, taking me out of my comfort zone, rebuking me when He finds it necessary.  Even when He rebukes me, I find comfort because I know, I know deep in my heart and soul, that He is leading me closer to Him.

During my Quiet Time this morning God led me to Isiah 16:3 “Help us, they cry.  “Defend us against our enemies.  Protect us from their relentless attack.  Do not betray us.  Let our outcasts stay among you.  Hide them our enemies until the terror is past.  When oppression and destruction have ceased and enemy raiders have disappeared then David’s throne will be established by love.  From that throne a faithful king will reign, one who always does what is just and right.” 

Quiet Time then took me to Philemon 1:6-10 “You are generous because of your faith.  And I am praying that you will really put your generosity to work, for in so doing you will come to an understanding of all the good things we can do for Christ.  I myself have gained much joy and comfort from your love, my brother, because your kindness has so often refreshed the hearts of God’s people.  That is why I am boldly asking a favor of you.  I could demand it in the name of Christ because it is the right thing for you to do, but because of our love, I prefer to just ask you.  So take this as a request from your friend Paul, an old man, now in prison for the sake of Christ Jesus.  May plea is that you show kindness to Onesimus.  I think of him as my own son…”

Have you ever thought that you’ve done something, utterly convinced you had done it, and then find out you really hadn’t? 

Isiah reminded me how God has kept me safe, how He pulled us away from terror and into a new life with Him, a new life filled with love. Now God (Philemon) is asking me to obey, to forgive, to let go of the places in my heart that are still hardened, places deep inside.  Our loving God has healed us through forgiveness and asks us to do the same.  I know true peace will not come without forgiveness.

Father God, Today I have granted me insight and understanding of forgiving others.  Without forgiveness, I can not move forward in all You have planned for me.  Father, help me to forgive from all the recesses of my heart, just as You have freely forgiven me.  He is Your child, a child whom You dearly love.   Amen.

Jesus isn’t being cruel or naive in His command for us to love. He’s actually showing us how to get free from the sting of another person’s wounds.  ~ Lysa TerKeurst

2 thoughts on “Leading to Forgiveness

  1. Amen, hon, amen! God is faithful, and He is always with us trying to get our attention! Thank for being so obedient to Him!

Leave a Reply

