Obeying

Isn’t it amazing how a devotion and bible study all wrap together into one neat little package?

Today Quiet Time revealed some thoughts to me in a different way.  Our Father doesn’t plead with us or beg us to do anything.  He gives us a choice and it’s up to us to obey Him or not.  Promote right living, love your husband and children, take care of your home, do good, be submissive to your husband, turn from Godless living and sinful pleasures, self-control, right conduct and devotion.  

Then I opened “The Power of a Praying Wife Devotional” by Stormie Omartian and it opened to this: When I Want Reassurance of My Place in the Marriage.  “A man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife and they shall become one flesh.” Genesis 2:24.  Then Stormie says “In the eyes of God, you and your husband are one, God sees you as equal.  He gives you different responsibilities in the relationship, but one is not less important than the other.” 

light bulb

God joined us together, we are one person in His eyes.  I hadn’t looked at it like that before.  Hubs and I are one person.  We’ve always said (so have the people around us) how it feels like we’ve been together forever.  I believe there is a reason for that, God made us for each other.  Hubs and I believe that with all our hearts.  God make each of us a half so that we will seek our other half to make us whole.  What one is lacking the other replaces.

That is such a new thought to me!  I’m so used to doing it on my own.  I’ve struggled with being a SAHW because I’ve felt I’m not contributing.  God has shown me, in fact, that I am contributing.  My contribution is being there when Hubs needs me; lifting him up in prayers, words and actions, maintaining our home, loving and being there for our children, allowing Hubs to take the lead in our marriage, and study, meditate and pray on the Word.  Doing this, in turn, allows him to focus on his work when he is away knowing that all is taken care of as he provides for us, fulfilling his need.

This new thought has caused me to see my days in a new way.  To see where I’ve allowed the world to invade and take me away from my contribution to our home.  To see that planning each day and working the plan will take us to where we need to be.

God is not going to “make me obey”, I choose to obey, with my whole heart!  I’m not saying that this will be easy, old habits die-hard.  But if God tells me to do this, then I will.

“It’s so simple to bring the light of God into the midst of our everyday world.  It is the small acts of life that (God) can be reflected so beautifully.”  

~ Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Studies

Leave a Reply

