Closer?

During Quiet Time today, this struck me: “If you are a child of God, there certainly will be troubles to meet, but Jesus says do not be surprised when they come.  “In the world ye shall have tribulation but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world, there is nothing for you to fear.” (My Utmost for His Highest – Oswald Roberts)

The past few weeks I have had troubles rolling around in my head.  I have feelings of things “not being right”.  Fear that others are not who they seem to be.  Fear, at times, that has been paralyzing.

I know, you are saying, “Why doesn’t she just lay it down at the foot of the cross?”  I do!  Every time the thoughts come, I stop and pray.  I pray to God asking that He will take the fears from me.  I pray to God asking that He will give me peace.  I pray to God asking for His guidance.  I pray to God asking that He will open my eyes to what I’m not seeing.

I pray and I pray yet I don’t seem to find any answers.  I have given everything to our Father over and over again. I search His Word for direction and peace.  For a while, peace will come and I can put my mind on other things of my daily life. Yet, the fear comes again.

This morning, while going through my news feed on Facebook, I was stopped in my tracks by Lysa TerKeust post: “Being uncertain and scared and riddled with doubt some days isn’t a sign of bad things to come. It’s actually quite the opposite. After all, if great things weren’t on the horizon, I don’t think the enemy would be so bent on attacking us.”

I’ve been so focused on my feelings, the thoughts in my head, I hadn’t even considered that this might be an enemy attack!  I never once thought that maybe the evil one was hellbent on trying to make me feel this way!

Then while chatting with a close friend in our morning check in, she told me about her quiet time this morning and where God led her;  “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

They say that as you walk closer with God enemy attacks become more common.  Could this be true?  Am I walking with God closer than I was?  Am I growing in Him more?

 

end_of_a_storm_1152x864-1

 

 

3 thoughts on “Closer?

  1. We seem to be on the same train of thought, I’m working on a post about this very thing to be published on my retreat. Wow. God is awesome, isn’t He?
    Blessings,
    Lyn

Leave a Reply

