Hurt Feelings

images (11)I’m a group in facebook that I used to love!  I loved the friendships that I made, I loved the encouragement, and I loved the laughter.  But in the last few months, I’ve become disillusioned.  I’ve had days when I thought my heart would break.  I’ve had days of anger.

Why?  All because of a few women who joined.  I think you know women like this:  they know everything about everything, they like to put down others for their chosen lifestyles, they put down their husbands constantly and they always begin with “if it works in your home”.  I know the reasoning behind thier actions… they are insecure.  They feel more powerful hiding behind a computer screen to say things that they would never say to your face.  They are trying to make themselves feel better about thier lives by putting others down.

I could respond, I could put my opinion out there, I could tell them just how much their comments hurt others.  Would it do any good?  Probably not because women like this just don’t seem to “get it”.  They would respond and then it would turn into an all out war.  Or they would laugh behind their computer screen thinking that I’m some little dumb woman.

Everyone has their own lifestyle .  Hubs and I decided on  the lifestyle we want.  Does it work for us?  Yes, it does.  I don’t undervalue a woman who works and cares for her home ~ I’ve done that, too.

Now I’m not a perfect person.  But I do try to monitor why I post on all things.  I don’t want to hurt anyone but encourage them.

Ephesians 4:29 “Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.”

3 thoughts on “Hurt Feelings

  1. BTDT, sometimes I need a mental health break from groups. Often it’s because of some of the same things you are going through, but sometimes, I just need to pull away and shut off the noise so I can hear God speak to me. I’ve made some dear friends in message boards and groups, and they’ve been beneficial for seasons, where I feel encouraged and spurred to growth, even sharpened…other times, in the same groups, I have felt discouraged, stunted and dulled…I think it’s a seasonal thing. I’m actually on a break from my favorites right now too, but I’ll be back, they can’t get rid of me that easily, lol.

    Blessings
    Lyn

  2. Your responses is exactly what I needed to hear! I have come on and off in the past but I have decided to leave the group. If things are not uplifting then they shouldn’t be part of my life. Thanks, Lyn!

Leave a Reply

