Pay-It-Forward 2013

A friend of mine posted this status on her Facebook page:

                   “2013 creative pay-it-forward! The first 5 people to comment on this status will receive a gift from me sometime in 2013. It may be homemade baked goods, a              book, or a surprise. The only catch is that you put this as your status too and pay it forward in 2013. Love this…. So hurry up and comment people..”

on January 5th.  I saw the status and immediately jumped in and re-posted it as my status!  What a great idea to spread a little love forward. I couldn’t wait to see who would accept this challenge!

As of  four days later, the results are in:  I am the only one of her friends to have accepted the challenge, I had three people accept the challenge with only one actually following through by re-posting.  The person who followed through had one that accepted the challenge but didn’t re-post.

I’m saddened by this.  I’m saddened that people thought that they would get something just by saying they would do it and not follow through.  I’m saddened that people are unwilling to share what God has given them with others. I’m saddened that the world has become such a selfish place.  I’m saddened that people feel they have a right to receive love but not give love.

I decided that only the one who followed through would receive the pay-it-forward, rules are rules.  Why should I share with someone who didn’t work to earn it?

But my decision was tugging at my heart so I decided to see what God says about sharing…

                    1 Timothy 6:18 “They should…give generously to those in need, always being ready to share with others whatever God has given them.”

I should be willing to share  out of a loving heart and leave the justice up to God.  Oh, come on ~ Rules are Rules and I’m a stick to the rules kinda woman!  These people didn’t play by the rules!  Why should they be entitled?

Then I thought about it a little more…have I always played by the rules?  Eh, no.  Has God shared his generous gifts with me?  Yes, even though I don’t deserve it.  Who am I to say that these people aren’t worthy when I haven’t been so worthy myself.

I guess you already know what I’m going to do, with a happy, loving heart I’m going to share with all three, just as God shares with me!  Once I follow God’s way things seem to just fall into place.

I’ve also decided to re-post here:

                       “2013 creative pay-it-forward! The first 5 people to comment on this status will receive a gift from me sometime in 2013. It may be homemade baked goods, a              book, or a surprise. The only catch is that you put this as your status too and pay it forward in 2013. Love this…. So hurry up and comment people..”

 with a happy, loving heart!

Are you holding something back?

Leave a Reply

