Present

Present one of my 2013 words.  As you know, this word has touched my heart.  Today God touched me about this word He sent to me.  I love when God does this!  It makes me love Him more and also gives me the encouragement to continue walking on this path, knowing it’s the right path to take.

Hubs is my present/blessing  from God, that I truly understand and I say that all the time.  God touched me to realize that I am a gift to Hubs as well.  Hubs tells me and shows me  how important I am to him everyday, how much he loves me but I guess I wasn’t “hearing” him clearly.  God gave us to each other as a present.  I totally believe that Hubs was made especially for me!  To love and honor all the days of my life. When we said our vows I meant every word from the bottom of my heart… this was always, forever and beyond.

My problem was that I wasn’t completely convinced that Hubs felt the same way.  Oh yes, he says it everyday but I’m not in his head or heart now, am I?  Oh yes, he shows it everyday.  I guess, you could say I have a problem with not being able to take things at face value.  Has Hubs given me any indication that he didn’t feel the same way?  Not in the slightest.

So I came to realize that my past was hindering this present God gave me.  Believe me I don’t think that Hubs is in any way like the other one because he is not. But my past was hindering me because I’m not letting go and forgiving.  I’m not allowing myself to fully accept the present God has given me. I’m comparing but the comparisons I’m making aren’t equal ~ they are apples to oranges.

So what’s a woman to do when she comes to this light-bulb realization?  She prays.  She puts her past at the foot of the cross and asks help in forgiving.  Oh doesn’t that sound so simple, to forgive another who has wronged you?  Let me tell you it’s not!   I begin to look up Bible promises from God as to how to do this total forgiveness thing.  It must be total forgiveness or it’s not going to work.

Colossians 3:13 “You must make allowances for others faults and forgive the person who offends you.  Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others.”  Ephesians 4:31 – 32 “Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger, harsh words and slander, as well as all types of malicious behavior.  Instead, be kind to each other, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.”

God forgave me all my sins, and they where some whoppers!  God forgave me and gave me a new life in Him.  His forgiveness gave me joy in my heart.  I can’t go back and change anything in the past, all I can do is learn from it.  Staying in the past rather than the present sure doesn’t help me in my walk with God or in my marriage.  There was no reason to stay in the past; 1 ~ I’m away from the situation; 2 ~ I don’t have to fear anymore; 3 ~ I can’t change it. So to move to the present I need to let it go with a forgiving and loving heart, just as God did for me.

So with a  free heart I put my past at the foot of the cross and ask God to release me from the hurt, fear, and confusion of it all.  I ask God to forgive everyone involved, as he forgave me.  I ask God to help me remember that they too are His children.  After putting it out there, I feel lighter, more focused.

Then I remembered my new affirmation based on the definition of  my words “I have confidence and trust in others now.”  This is what I inspire to live like this right?!

God has had confidence and trust in me, so now I must give that with others!  That is forgiveness!  It also gives me a new present!

Has God given you a present?  Have you stood back from taking it?

http://www.natural-homeremedies.com/howto/how-to-forgive/

Leave a Reply

